PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Training

hugov
March 31st, 2005, 10:42 AM
Hi all

I would like to start an organization providing free Linux and Linux Apps training.
The training will be in CBT form using Macromedia Flash, which will run in a browser. Training covered will be things like Using Linux (KDE/GNOME), Using Open Office .org, Using Gimp...etc. Do any of you think that this is a good and viable idea? I believe that Linux will be so much more effective with the right training at the right price (in this case free). Do you think that I will get support from the communities in developing these CBT courses? Will sponsors be interested? I have been working for 5 years at a computer training institute developing interactive CBT courseware, and would like to apply my experience and skills in a project like this. It will at first be completely part time, then maybe later full time development.

And of course I will be using Ubuntu as my distro of choice ;-)

I know, it is difficult to excite anyone with this, but the training will look very very good and will work just as well.

If you think this is a good idea, please give some feedback on which applications you would like to see training. Also make any comments and suggestions.

If you think this is a good idea, please give some feedback on which applications you would like to see training. Also make any comments and suggestions.

Thanks for reading

inflexion
March 31st, 2005, 11:34 AM
IMO its a good idea but you have to decide on what you want to do first.

Id like to see one that teaches you the basic admin stuff(ie install new programs, create new folers etc) from the command line

One that shows you how to build a basic firewall and that you dont need and anti-virus

Lastly one like you said that shows you how simular OO is MS Office and then firefox..........

hugov
March 31st, 2005, 11:53 AM