PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't boot into Ubuntu 14.04 after trying to repair windows 7

leyle
December 25th, 2015, 09:17 PM
I have both Windows 7 and Ubuntu 14.04 installed on my computer - on two different hard drives. After trying to repair a browser issue in Windows 7, I unthinkingly started Windows in the secure mode, which somehow messed with my boot options. I can't boot into ubuntu anymore.

The boot options screen does not show up anymore.
When I tried to boot into ubuntu from BIOS, I could not find the disk ubuntu is supposed to be installed on. I tried all the boot options in the BIOS, but all lead to windows 7.

I tried boot-repair (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair) and got this:

http://paste.ubuntu.com/14208714/

While I was in the Try-Ubuntu-Without-Installing mode, I also could not see the disk that ubuntu is on, only the windows disk.

Any idea what I could do?

PS: I hope I'm in the right thread, but this is my first time posting - I usually find solution to my problems just by browsing this forum, but this time I'm stumped.

yancek
December 25th, 2015, 10:59 PM
Boot repair only shows the 232GB device on which you have windows installed plus the flash drive. If the drive with Ubuntu doesn't show in the BIOS, it might be dead. Check that it is securely plugged on both ends.

leyle
December 25th, 2015, 11:17 PM
checked that, but it is still securely inside the computer (- secured with 4 screws)

oldfred
December 26th, 2015, 01:32 AM
No it is the electrical connections, both power & SATA cable.

My very old system with the wide parallel cables always came loose when I opened case. And it usually looked connected, but needed a firm push to fully seat. Most newer SATA cables now have locks so not an issue, some early ones did not.
Or just coincidence that a cable failed.

leyle
December 26th, 2015, 01:54 AM