PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fresh Ubuntu installation, i need some general advices

Nonoua
December 19th, 2015, 03:28 PM
Hi all, this is my first post, im quite new to Ubuntu and i was wondering how to correctly manage my partitions and my hard drives to correctly make a fresh ubuntu installation.
I got two hard disk here (Samsung 600 Gb and Toshiba 1Tb) so my intention was to make something like that:

740 Gb /home on ext4
80 Gb of swap
640 Gb - Data partition on NTFS
and 150 gb for a win installation, Fat32

My question is, how would you manage that?
Thanks for help and long live the ubuntu!

):P

v3.xx
December 19th, 2015, 04:33 PM
80G of swap sounds like a lot.

Rule of thumb is swap equals your ram.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwapFaq#Why_do_I_need_swap.3F

Nonoua
December 19th, 2015, 04:47 PM
Im reading your link and thanks for your help. May i ask you a question? Is it completely useless to have such space for swap?
Can i also ask you how would you manage 1 Tb and 600 gb of space knowing my will to use some space for windows?
Thank you

ian-weisser
December 19th, 2015, 07:28 PM
Personally, I avoid *all* the issues of dual-booting, and simply run other OSs in a Virtual Machine.
Linux, Mac, Windows all run quite good VMs.

It makes experimenting and changing your mind much easier and safer.

grahammechanical
December 19th, 2015, 07:37 PM
You have not included a partition for Ubuntu.

Normally Ubuntu goes into a / mounted partition and inside the / directory there will be our /home folder. Which means that if we re-install we may loose everything in the /home folder. So, some of us put /home on its own partition. Well, you list 740GB for /home partition but nothing for Ubuntu. You need about 20 GB to 30 GB for / partition.

Regards.

v3.xx
December 19th, 2015, 07:59 PM
May i ask you a question? Is it completely useless to have such space for swap?

Funny you should ask.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2306798&p=13409011

Topsiho