PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Booting from usb

Scott_
November 30th, 2015, 08:27 PM
I installed my Ubuntu 14.04 iso on a USB stick because it helps me with my IT work. I've been using an old version for many years because it's always worked for me, so why change..... Since updating, it seems to do what I needed from the older version, but I noticed that the programs I install and settings I change don't stay when rebooting. It's like using a live cd..... I used to be able to have extra programs and I had my own username and password set up but none of those settings stick anymore. It would be horribly time consuming to reinstall each program after each boot when switching to a new computer, which I do many times a day as I goto each customers business. Can someone please tell me what's going on? This wasn't an issue on the previous version I was using.

sudodus
November 30th, 2015, 08:37 PM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

There are different ways to run Ubuntu from a USB drive.

1. Live only, what you seem to be running now
2. Persistent live, where you can install programs and store files.
3. Installed system, like installed into an internal drive, but into a USB stick.

You had either of 2. or 3. previously. See these links for more details.

Try Ubuntu (Kubuntu, Lubuntu, Xubuntu, ...) before installing it (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2230389)
Installation/FromUSBStick (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/FromUSBStick)

Scott_
November 30th, 2015, 09:07 PM
I think I've figured it out. The image burner I used didn't offer a persistence option. I don't remember the program I used before but I remember setting plenty of space for persistence. So I will have to find a new program and reinstall the image. I'll keep you updated, but it think I've figured it out.

Scott_
November 30th, 2015, 09:55 PM
Nevermind. I've reinstalled with 4 gigs of persistence however my settings still aren't saving...

sudodus
November 30th, 2015, 09:57 PM