PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Switching from intel integrated graphics to dedicated GPU

snarkyCoder
November 15th, 2015, 06:05 AM
I am very new to linux so please bear with me :)
I am running Ubuntu with an intel i7-4790 and using the integrated graphics but in a couple of days I will be getting a nvidia GeForce GTX 960
What should I do before installing the GPU? Is there a process I should do like uninstalling the intel graphics drivers?:confused:
Or should I just insert the card and boot the system up with the monitor connected to the GPU and then proceed with installation of the nvidia drivers?

grahammechanical
November 15th, 2015, 04:20 PM
You may find that the machine is still using the integrated video adapter and that you need to enter the BIOS/UEFI to switch over to the discreet video card. If you load Ubuntu using the integrated video adapter you can then go to System Settings>Software & Updates>Additional Drivers tab and if you are connected to the internet and if you give the utility some time Additional Drivers may offer you some Nvida proprietary drivers to install. The utility will take care of disabling the Intel driver if it needs to.

Oh, by the way, At the boot menu there is an option called Advanced Options for Ubuntu. Open that sub-menu and we can select recovery mode. And then at the recovery menu we can select Resume. That can be a useful method of getting to a working desktop if there are problems with video drivers.

Regards

SeijiSensei
November 15th, 2015, 05:49 PM
When I installed an NVIDIA 750 into my ASUS machine, both Windows and Ubuntu started using the device without any changes to the BIOS. Ubuntu loaded the nouveau driver. It took a little work to install the proprietary driver, as the "Driver Manager" application in 14.04 couldn't find a match. I ended up using the xorg-edgers PPA (http://askubuntu.com/questions/464354/update-nvidia-drivers-with-xorg-edgers-ppa) instead.

deadflowr
November 15th, 2015, 07:40 PM