PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Windows 10 November Update Killed my UEFI Grub install. Help?

mattlach
November 14th, 2015, 09:09 PM
Hi all,

So it turns out that Microsoft in their wisdom automatically download and install the Windows 10 November update / Threshold 2 thing.

When it installs - Going from the June initial release of Windows 10, to the November Threshold 2 release it doesn't just install like an update, but rather like a full OS upgrade.

As a user, you have no input to prevent this. IF Windows is left to idle on its own, it will download the November update to version 1511, and after a while reboot and install itself (3am for most people)

When it did this it somehow messes with the EFI partition resulting in this:

https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/705/23027080981_c6dd6dbd35_n.jpg

I'm relatively new to UEFI, having done traditional BIOS type booting in the past, so I assumed it would just be a matter of booting from my handy Ubuntu Live USB stick, chrooting into my linux install, and re-running update-grub.

Except, this had no effect. The command output looked like it found everything, and updated grub, but rebooting took me to this same screen.

The Windows EFI entry is still intact, so I can manually choose to boot from it in my BIOS, but during the Windows 10 update, but when I choose my Ubuntu entry, I just get the output above again.

Any suggestions on how to repair this would be greatly appreciated.

Right now I'm guessing I'll have to boot in Windows rescue mode, go into the command line and delete the Ubuntu EFI entry, and then reboot back to my trust Ubuntu USB live stick, chroot into my install and issue a command something like this:

grub-install --target=x86_64-efi --efi-directory=/boot/efi --bootloader-id=ubuntu --recheck --no-floppy --debug

All this is horribly obnoxious. If I am going to have to do this ever few months when Microsoft decides to issue another "upgrade" it's going to drive me absolutely insane...