PDA

View Full Version : What goes into maintaining a website?

cody27
November 11th, 2015, 06:32 AM
I'm learning, well re-learning HTML, and learning CSS and JavaScript. It's the most excited I've been about "coding" in many years now.

But I feel like I'm massively overthinking this.

Do you just check into your code every now and then? Is there anything you have to do a a front-end developer to help with the back-end?

I realized I've never thought about what is basically the business side of being a front-end developer.

I had in my mind that you're a new, self-taught front-end developer that started working for a local small business, developing and designing their site.
What's expected of you?
What do you do every day when you go into work?

What about freelancers? Do they write the code and then aren't expected to check up on it?

I hope these questions aren't too dumb :lolflag:

SeijiSensei
November 11th, 2015, 08:21 AM
Many people rely on "content management systems" like Joomla, WordPress, or Drupal to build sites rather than writing everything from scratch. I use WordPress for blogs and occasional other sites, but in general I write complete web applications from scratch with a combination of HTML, PHP, and a backend database, usually PostgreSQL. In most cases the types of sites I'm developing don't lend themselves to a CMS.