PDA

View Full Version : Installing Ubuntu on second HDD

rick51
November 7th, 2015, 10:09 PM
Hello
I know there have been several threads related this topic, however I cannot find a full answer.

My System
Is an Asus P5Q Pro Turbo motherboard with 8Gb ram and Windows 10 new install and not a upgrade.

I do not want to get in to any trouble as I’m new to Linux, I have Windows 10 installed on a 1tb HDD which has 4 partitions (C,D,E,F).

I would like to install Ubuntu 14.04 on to a second new 2tb HDD, with the ability to boot to Ubuntu or Windows 10 from a boot menu as I do not know about Grub.

I would like to use Ubuntu to backup 3 Windows PC, Samba as print server, maybe Xbmc and to learn about Linux and at some stage change to Linux as my main system.

Rick51

grahammechanical
November 7th, 2015, 10:59 PM
And your question?

I think that this is still applicable.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI

In Linux the first hard disk is called sda (sata drive a), the second hard disk is called sdb. If Windows 10 is installed on sda then you need Ubuntu to be installed on sdb. Here is something to watch out for: The Ubuntu installer will default to installing a boot loader (Grub) onto sda. It is best to change that to sdb. Then you can use the BIOS/UEFI to select which hard drive to boot from. If you set it to sda then Windows 10 will load. If to set it sdb then you will get a boot menu that will let you load either Ubuntu or Windows 10.

You choose the Something Else option and at the partitioning screen you select sdb and the click Change. At the dialog you set Use As to Ext4 from the drop down menu. You tick the box to format and set the mount point to / from the drop down menu.