PDA

View Full Version : Cannot install any video driver 14.04

troopersec442
November 2nd, 2015, 03:53 AM
Hey guys (and gals),
I'm relatively new to Ubuntu. I was trying to install the proprietary Nvidia binary using the guide from
http://www.binarytides.com/install-nvidia-drivers-ubuntu-14-04/
to no avail, and now I tried
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2081649
also to no avail. The output I get after doing sudo service lightdm stop and running the nvidia .run from there is "failed to load NVIDIA kernel". Now im stuck in the 640X800 res and I cannot seem to get nouveau to work again either. I'm at wits end. I've been prowling the forum all day looking for a fix for me. I really REALLY don't want to reinstall OS again (there were issues with the first few installs).

Vladlenin5000
November 2nd, 2015, 04:16 AM
Hi and welcome.

Please inform what Ubuntu version have you installed and what hardware you have (Nvidia graphcis card/chip). Meanwhile stop what you're doing because you're making things worse.

troopersec442
November 2nd, 2015, 04:19 AM
14.04 LTS with a Geforce 560m

Vladlenin5000
November 2nd, 2015, 04:36 AM
14.04 LTS with a Geforce 560m

As usual, you just go to system settings > Software & Updates and find the rightmost tab Additional Drivers; wait a few seconds and you'll be presented with several options; select the recommended proprietary driver from the list, apply, reboot. DONE!
However, considering you already messed with things you shouldn't I suggest you first remove any trace of nvidia drivers that may have eventually been installed during such experiments. So, before anything else, open a terminal and do:

sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
Reboot and follow the procedure above.

grahammechanical
November 2nd, 2015, 04:48 AM
+1