PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to create the perfect install

33Nicolas
October 30th, 2015, 05:11 PM
I'm opening this thread here because I convoluted my Ubuntu Studio to the point where it makes less and less sense to fix. I'm a newbie and just downloaded the MinimalCD.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/MinimalCD

The goal here is to install a lean system on an old machine, circa 2008 I believe, and to install only what I need.

Looking forward to the learning curve and leave the Infernal Trio behind.

Bashing-om
October 30th, 2015, 06:39 PM
33Nicolas; Hey !

I am looking to find the 14.04.1 minimal release .iso ..
I "think" you will be better served with the .1 release as 64 bit . However, I have been known to make errors in judgement. You are encouraged to correct my thinking.

together we can

Bashing-om
October 30th, 2015, 07:53 PM
33Nicolas; eeekkk ;

My google-foo is failing me . I am unable to find a 14.04.1 minimal .iso !
We may have to work with 14.04.3 (??) . That might put a small kink in the plan .

best laid plans of mice and men

sudodus
October 30th, 2015, 08:15 PM
Look here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2230389&p=13211730#post13211730) for mini.iso versions (they do not completely match the versions of the desktop iso files).

33Nicolas
October 31st, 2015, 12:23 AM
Sorry for the delay, been busy.

Ah, thanks all, I was having difficulties finding the right one. Thanks Sudodus for the links and Bashing-Om for keeping up with me. Maybe this thread can help others also.

I'm trying to figure out what my hardware is. I typed sudo lshw and got the following.

Dell Precision WorkStation 390
64-bit system
CPU Intel 2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz (no AMD Bashing-Om, what did I do with this install!)
2GB RAM
Nvidea NV44 [Quadro NVS 285]
onboard audio... Gasp.

OK, now I know which one to download. I can't find 14.04.x. Can you help? Thanks.

Bashing-om
October 31st, 2015, 12:56 AM
33Nicolas33; Hey !

Thanks to sudodus for the link .