PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] flickering drop down menus/browser scrolling - unstability

timber2
October 27th, 2015, 10:35 AM
Hi to all,

I am new to linux for some weeks now and I have installed recently first lubuntu 14.04.03 and due to its misbehaviour, later lxle to an old laptop Asus L4500R Pentium M coming from windows 7 professional, with which the computer ran very slowly but with no bugs.

Since I am very happy with ubuntu/mint in other computer at home I thought about replacing windows 7 by lubuntu hoping for better performance. Nevertheless while running lubuntu 14.04 from the early beginning, the computer started to have random but very frequently the issues in question (flickering drop down menus including the OS main menu/problems while browser scrolling/for example while writing in the search boxes in the browser, flickering, redirecting cursor to the first position, unable to work with mouse, etc...) which led to unstability while shutdown and reboot/start of the computer, having to restart it in safe mode.

So I decided to install lxle 14.04 and it seemed things got a little bit better than in lubuntu with the exception of the flickering problem, that often makes impossible to navigate the main OS menu with the mouse or browser scrolling without the cursor keys, and even with them you get sometimes promptly redirected to the very start point of the website.

I have tried combining different options in the grub such as acpi=off and/or nomodeset and/or xforcevesa, but none of them seem to work. With xforcevesa active things seemed to get a bit worse.

In the propietary drivers settings, it only displays one propietary driver, which in my case is related to the modem. I tried both options, use the driver, and the other, do not use this device at all, with no effect to the problem in question.