PDA

View Full Version : P2p malware issues

joshbrandes_2_hot
October 25th, 2015, 03:13 PM
I was reading a paper about limewire inadvertent disclosure. Did limewire have malware that would change share folder settings and expose all your personal documents to the entire limewire network?
This is mainly a claim made by tiversa and really haven't seen this anywhere else. Only on ftc websites. But I know hackers could access your account directly I'm not questioning that. And I know p2p back in the day was filled with viruses. But did it really have some that would expose your entire user account to the entire limewire network in the share folder

TheFu
October 25th, 2015, 05:17 PM
I'm slightly familiar with the tiversa and FTC claims against a small lab testing company, LabMD; met the former owner. No inside info, just many years as a Unix and Security guy. The CEO doesn't know much about technology and the IT people may be experts or complete noobs-can't say.

a) they were running Windows. Users could load unapproved software on their PCs. Linux was not involved.
b) the LabMD CEO believed tiversa hacked into their network to gain access to healthcare records in an attempt to "drum up business." That is putting it nicely. Tiversa's BoD has a former 4-star General with FTC connections. The CEO's version makes it seem that the FTC informally asked for an easy to bully company with healthcare data to be targeted. No proof exists about this. The CEO is a special-kind of stubborn. The FTC asked for an admission of guilt, a $50K fine and many years of pricey outside audits to have the case closed. The CEO asked for specific requirements to secure the network, computers, and data, which the FTC refused to provide. After all, the FTC is mostly lawyers and doesn't have IT/networking skills.
c) a former tiversa employee testified after the company was destroyed claiming improper actions related to this company. http://money.cnn.com/2015/05/07/technology/tiversa-labmd-ftc/