PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Dependency Issues in Kubuntu, behaving weird.....

amantripathi4u
October 24th, 2015, 04:01 AM
Hello Community. I was using Ubuntu 14.04, and upgraded it to Kubuntu 15.04 few days ago. It was working flawlessly. Then one day I used "sudo apt-get autoremove" command, I thought it would save me some memory. But when auto-remove process was running I noticed it was removing some important packages like upstart related packages, KDE environment programs, dependencies and all. I thought it was a part of process, as I am new to Linux. But when I rebooted the system I was unable to boot into GUI, only shell was working, from there I reinstalled Ubuntu-default and KDE environment,display managers, xserver and window managers after which I succeeded to reach login screen, but could not boot into complete desktop.

I tried tried nearly everything (including suggestions from different forums), but was unable to boot into complete desktop experience. Then out nowhere I decided to boot with previous kernel (i.e. 3.13.x.x) and it booted to desktop. That's fine, but it was not complete, I mean some of the essential programs were missing like Dolphin, Konsole, Kmail and many more. From here I am explaining series of incidents step by step:

Rebooted the machine with default kernel (i.e. 3.19.x.x) and it worked too. But still there were programs missing.
Reinstalled KDE with "sudo apt-get install --reinstall kubuntu-desktop", most of the programs appeared, but some modules were still not working, like there was Dolphin plugins, some widgets, Amarok.
When I try to install some packages like Yakuake, it gives error "yakuake : Depends: konsole4-kpart but it is not going to be installed". And this problem occurs for many packages.

Now for these dependency related issues I used nearly every method like : running
sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get install -f, and others which are available in may every forum in the world.