PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Ubuntu behaving weird... Desperately need help...

amantripathi4u
October 22nd, 2015, 10:50 AM
Hello Community.
I was using Ubuntu 14.04, and decided to install KDE environment on it. After some use I decided to upgrade to 15.04. Upgrade went fine and everything was working normal. Then I mistakenly used
apt-get autoremove, I thought it would save me some memory(I am new in Linux, a noob). After that there were dependencies related issues started to occur. I somehow fixed them (may be partially). Then I tried to upgrade the Plasma desktop. After the upgrade I found there were lots of issues like:

Wife Icon from system tray was not there, I couldn't find network manager, hence not able to connect to network. For connecting and disconnecting I needed to log out of system then log in into LXDE > connect to hidden wifi network > logout > login again to Plasma.
Some of important programs like Dolphin, Konsole etc were missing. I needed to install them manually.
Dolphin plugins were not working.
Sometimes system won't let you log-out or shutdown.

I thought this problem would be solved by removing KDE and then installing it again, so I searched for the right way to install kde completely and found this command on Ask Ubuntu:

sudo apt-get install aptitude
sudo aptitude remove '?and(?and(?reverse-depends(kubuntu),?not(?reverse-depends(ubuntu-desktop))), ?not(?or(?priority(required), ?priority(important))))' ubuntu-desktop+

and Bam... Everything became a nightmare after that. After running this command I rebooted, And It booted directly into shell. I tried to switch to gui with clrl-alt-f7, but it was only a blank screen.