PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cannot find a method to install Ubuntu as dual boot

igor49
October 15th, 2015, 05:29 PM
Hello Ladies & Gentlemen. Please forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong forum, but I am brand new to Ubuntu.
I need to install it as a dual boot, I boot from my USB that I made with the Ubuntu Desktop ISO, and I start clicking through the installation process, but it doesn't show me an option anywhere to install it as a dual boot.

What am I doing wrong? Does Ubuntu not allow dual boot? PS, I am trying to do this on my W10 machine.

Thank you very much

agillator
October 15th, 2015, 06:02 PM
Just to alert you, the UEFI requirements make the procedure a little (?) different from the "old" way, so be sure whomever answers addresses Windows and UEFI or you could really screw things up. The 'old' way is to adjust the partitions on the hard drive to make room, install linux in the created space, and then let grub handle the master boot record. Since I haven't been forced into the UEFI nightmare yet I really can't do more than alert you to the difference but this DOES NOT work with today's BIOS (I believe).

mcduck
October 15th, 2015, 06:20 PM
It's not that different to install on UEFI. Just a few things you need to do first:

- make sure you are installing 64-bit version
- Go to your UEFI settings and disable FastBoot/QuickBoot & Intel Smart Response
- in Windows, disable Fast Startup
- Make sure the computer is booting in UEFI mode (it most likely is since you have Windows 10)

After checking those, you should be able to run the install as usual. If you use manual partitioning, make sure you set the EFI boot partition to mount as /boot/efi.