PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Grub incorrectly installed after reinstall and Boot Repair not repairing.

Flyer
September 28th, 2015, 09:16 AM
Hi,
I have been running a dual boot Ubuntu 14.04.10 and Windows 8. I. I have done a reinstall to upgrade to 14.04.03 using the reinstall option on the installer.
Grub has not correctly reinstalled and Boot Repair has not fixed the problem. It has produced the following info:
http://paste.Ubuntu.com/12572295.

Would be very grateful for any assistance.

Thanks

ajgreeny
September 28th, 2015, 12:41 PM
Firstly, you did not need to reinstall to get from 14.04.1 to 14.04.3; you could have made that change much more simply by running normal updates and also installing the appropriate packages for the hardware-enablement-stack upgrade.

However, having now reinstalled Ubuntu it seems you used legacy BIOS settings rather than UEFI, which it was previously, and must be now in order to allow both OSs to boot.

I am no expert in dual booting but it looks as if the default boot-repair, mentioned at the bottom of your report, can put this right and remove grub-pc and replace with grub-efi.

The default repair of the Boot-Repair utility would purge (in order to fix packages sign-grub fix executable) and reinstall the grub-efi-amd64-signed of sda9, using the following options: sda1/boot/efi,
Additional repair would be performed: unhide-bootmenu-10s use-standard-efi-file
Perhaps wait for more expert responses before taking the plunge with this, and do not do anything in a rush until you know what is needed.

oldfred
September 28th, 2015, 03:54 PM
I do see grub-pc (BIOS) in gpt drive's protective MBR. So at some point you did install in BIOS boot mode.
But fstab shows a mount of /boot/efi, so it looks like current install is set for UEFI boot. And you also have the ubuntu entries in the efibootmgr list from your UEFI.