PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I am new to Linux and try to install Ubuntu (alongside Windows 7 at this point.) I h

Ian_Holton
September 21st, 2015, 08:32 PM
I am new to Linux and try to install Ubuntu (alongside Windows 7 at this point.) I have come unstuck at the first (second, third, fourth.....) hurdle. I hope someone can help.

I shrunk C: under Windows Disk manager to free up 170GB. Then I rebooted via the Ubuntu DVD and hit Install. After several failed attempts due to my ignorance of Linux file structure and terminology differences with Microsoft, I got Ubuntu to say it had installed on a 100GB space that I thought was in the 170GB spare and I had asked it to structure as Ext4 (all completely new to me) and had asked to change to “forward slash” - root directory.

When I rebooted, after a time I got the message "Gave up waiting for root device" followed by many other lines of message amongst which one which said it is “Dropping to Shell” which I guess is the line output rather than the Windows view.

To add to the fun, the PC will no longer boot under Windows, complaining that there is a disk read error.

Should I take my PC to a scrap merchant, or is there hope?

Thanks for any help!

Bashing-om
September 21st, 2015, 08:46 PM
Ian_Holton; Hello; Welcome to the forum.

I bet

Should I take my PC to a scrap merchant, or is there hope?

fixing this issue is no big deal.
As you are learning linux is not Windows, and an altered mind set is required.
Let's look at what we have to work with,
Boot up the liveDVD(USB) to "try ubuntu" mode.
At the desk top key combo ctl+alt+t will yield a terminal.
Please post back the outputs - Between Code Tags - of terminal command:

sudo fdisk -lu

code tag tutorial:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2171721&p=12776168#post12776168