PDA

View Full Version : What year did you start PC gaming?

portalhavoc
September 19th, 2015, 08:43 PM
I have been playing games on the PC since late 2003 (When I was 3 years old. I'm 15 now.) on a custom built PC. (I remembered it having a Dell CRT monitor, a Logitech keyboard and a Microsoft optical mouse.

And it ran on Windows XP Professional as it was the standard for the time period.)

And the games I would mostly play were educational games by School Zone Interactive and Disney Interactive.

And then I later discovered a service called RealArcade that came bundled with RealPlayer. (If you remember that?)

And the games I remember playing on there were:

QBz by Skunk Studios
Ricochet Xtreme (AKA Rebound on RealArcade) by Reflexive Entertainment
SpongeBob's Obstacle Odyssey by (I forget the developer) :(
and
AstroPop Deluxe by PopCap Games

I used to play these games A LOT.

And we'll fast forward 10 years later to 2013 when I got a Steam account to play Portal and Portal 2.

Nowadays I play games like:
Borderlands 2
Quake II (A classic)
Civilization: Beyond Earth

And I still play Portal 2 occasionally. ;)

RichardET
September 19th, 2015, 10:16 PM
I never play actual games other than
maybe chess; what OS do you use?

portalhavoc
September 19th, 2015, 10:23 PM
I never play actual games other than
maybe chess; what OS do you use?
I use Windows 7 Professional and Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS.

mystics
September 19th, 2015, 11:20 PM
I've been PC gaming since I was like three years old, so the early 90s. Granted, I've been more of a console gamer, since that is a much cheaper option. I did get really into some heavy PC gaming between 2008-2011 when I got a really good computer, but the fact that it was outdated by 2011 (Battlefield 3 only ran at 15 FPS) highlighted the problem I have with making PC gaming my primary way of gaming.