PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I Upgrade CUPS?

jonny13
September 16th, 2015, 01:06 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and Linux in general.

I have inherited CUPS version 1.39 Print Server and need to upgrade it.

I don't want to lose the config and need CUPS updated to at least 3.4.4 as it have read it fixes a Windows 7 printer installation bug.

Can anyone assist or point to a guide on the net?

ian-weisser
September 16th, 2015, 07:30 PM
I don't want to lose the config and need CUPS updated to at least 3.4.4

The latest release from cups.org is only 2.1.0...which is in Ubuntu 15.10.
Are you sure about needing 3.4.4? Where are you getting that version number from?

1.3.9 predates any supported release of Ubuntu, the oldest is 1.5.2 in Ubuntu 12.04. What release of Ubuntu are you running?

MAFoElffen
September 17th, 2015, 03:30 AM
Do this and post the results

sudo lsb_release -a
sudo apt-cache show cups

From what you said... and from what ian-weisser noted... I wonder what version of what, you inherited.

Why do I wonder? Because cups 1.3.9 came with Ubuntu Jaunty 8.04. Whether Server or Desktop, it does not matter. There is no direct route to upgrade the system to a current LTS, because those repo's reach end-of-service many years ago. There is some work-around outside of Ubuntu, but I wouldn't recommend that to someone who is admittedly new to Ubuntu and new to Linux.

Do not try to do an update/upgrade on that old a system = that would fail outright.

What would I recommend? Analyze what is there and the config. Copy the config files, so you have a reference. Image or backup the server. Start fresh, with a current 14.04.03 LTS Server install. Configure to what settings the old server was set at, with installed services that the old server was providing.

That would be my recommendation.

jonny13
September 30th, 2015, 03:17 PM
Hi,

Thanks for the Replies, unfortunately I hadn't subscribed to the thread so have only just seen them.