PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to either delete Grub or modify Grub to include Win7 as an option

thrashercharged
September 9th, 2015, 06:43 PM
I'm a total newbie to Linux, here's the deal: I've a Dell M6800 with 2 physical HDs: SK hynix 256GB primary drive and a 1TB Toshiba secondary drive. This is a work laptop (belongs to my employer). This is what Ubuntu gives via "Disks":

The primary SK drive:
Partition1: 315MB HPFS/NTFS bootable, /dev/sda1, contents unknown (I assume due to encryption)
Partition2: 256GB HPFS/NTFS, /dev/sda2, contents unknown
I have Win7 installed on Partition1 of this primary SK drive the entire drive is encrypted (because it's a work laptop)

The secondary Toshiba drive:
Partition1: Filesystem 20GB (15 GB free), dev/sdb1, Bootable Linux, EXT4 (version 1.0) mounted at Filesystem Root
Partition2: Linux Swap 2GB, dev/sdb2, Swap Version2
Partition3: MS_Drive 401GB HPFS/NTFS, dev/sdb3, contents NTFS - not mounted
Unallocated free space: 577GB, /dev/sdb

The Toshiba previously had Ubuntu 12.x installed but it was never fully working. In the boot order, the primary SK drive was first and it would both successfully into Win7. If I changed to boot order to boot off the secondary Toshiba, Grub 2.02 would come up, with the only boot option being Ubuntu. If I tried booting into Ubuntu some error would occur - I forget what, never worried about it, I just always booted with the primary SK drive into Win7. I was never able to successfully boot into Ubuntu 12.x with this setup.

Last night I installed Ubuntu 14.04 LTS using the AMD64 version and chose to replace the previously installed 12.x version (not a clean install - the option where you replace 12.x wtih 14.04 and keep your settings, etc.. Now here's my problems:

1. Grub has now been installed onto my primary SK drive, with the only option being to boot Ubuntu off the Toshiba. Win7 is not an option.