PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] cannot make changes to hard drive

Jaap_Plas
August 28th, 2015, 09:56 AM
Hello,
I am new to Linux, kubuntu etc. Last days i tried to install Linux several times. First i tried archlinus with kde, now i have installed Kubuntu 14, and i have also tried kubuntu 15. Till now in all versions of Linux i get error messages when trying to launch applications or do anything at all.
The error messages are like: Configuration file "/home/user/.kde/share/config/[application]" not writable. Please contact your system administrator."
I also cant do anything in the Konsole, if i want to change to su, it says "Authentication failure".
It looks like the system can't make any changes to the hard drive at all.
I have now set the bios to load-fail defaults. But that does not change anything.
Searched the internet about this problem, but couldn't find anything similar to this problem.
can anyone help me out?

sudodus
August 28th, 2015, 12:28 PM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

We need more information in order to help you. Please describe your computer (hardware and software) and how you intend to use it!

1. Please specify your computer

- Brand name and model
- CPU
- RAM (size)
- graphics chip/card
- wifi chip/card

2. Are you running Windows or MacOS now? In that case, do you intend to keep it (and have a dual boot system)?

3. What tasks do you intend to perform in the computer?

- internet browsing
- mail, chat ...
- video playing and conversion
- advanced word processing
- advanced editing of pictures
- computing (scientic programs ...)

4. How did you try to install Kubuntu?

- Did you check the md5sum of the iso file?
- Which tool did you use to make a DVD or USB drive bootable with Kubuntu?
- Does it run live (booted from the DVD or USB drive without installing)?
- Does the installation finish without error messages?

dino99
August 28th, 2015, 12:31 PM