PDA

View Full Version : Blinking cursor after installation (disk encryption)

petey2
August 28th, 2015, 12:04 AM
I'm a beginner. I installed Ubuntu and selected disk encryption. After the installation completes, the computer reboots to a black screen with a blinking cursor. I tried to enter the password and nothing happens. I can't do anything on that screen.

I reinstalled and did not select encryption and the installation completed just fine.

I decided to reinstall yet again, and selected disk encryption again, and I'm back to the problem in the first step - black screen with blinking white cursor.

I used the installation CD to boot into a live environment and ran boot repair. It said it fixed my boot loader, but I still can't boot. Here's the link: http://paste.ubuntu.com/12209782/

I tried installing on my SSD (sdb). The other two drives are internal, but used for storage (they are currently empty).

Any help?

Thanks!

Petro Dawg
August 28th, 2015, 12:37 AM
Is your bios set to boot from the SSD instead of one of the other drives? I would try unplugging the other two drives and see if it boots from the SSD by itself.

yancek
August 28th, 2015, 12:43 AM
The reason you can't boot is shown at the very top of the boot repair output. You don't have any bootloader installed on any of the drives. You have Ubuntu installed on the 128GB drive but boot repair doesn't show any the expected Grub boot files, particularly the grub.cfg file which contains the boot menu you see on screen when you boot.