PDA

View Full Version : Have I done this right?

thetexan
August 22nd, 2015, 10:46 PM
Anticipating installing Ubuntu I used paragon to set up three partitions dedicated to Ubuntu. This is on an Intel machine that already has windows 7 on it.

thetexan
August 22nd, 2015, 10:49 PM
Anticipating installing Ubuntu I used paragon to set up three partitions dedicated to Ubuntu. This is on an Intel machine that already has windows 7 on it.

Mine partition is 30g for the root (/). Another is 18g for a swap disk (I have 8g of ram). And a third is about 50g for /home for various stuff.

Now...do I install Ubuntu and assign each of these to there respective mounts during installation?

I am an absolute noob. Please help.

Tex

howefield
August 22nd, 2015, 10:49 PM
Wow, too much information....

How can anyone give you a decent answer with the paucity of detail that you have provided ?

matt_symes
August 22nd, 2015, 10:59 PM
Hi

To expand on howfield's comment, more information is required such as the size of the partitions and the size of the drive.

Always supply as much information as you can, as consicely as possible for the best support.

Edit: were threads merged here ?

Kind regards

TheFu
August 22nd, 2015, 11:23 PM
All those partitions are a little big.
/ - 25G
swap - either 4G if you don't hibernate or 8.1G if you do. Anything more is a waste. The old rules of thumb don't apply any more.
/home - 50G seems like WAY too much. I suppose if you are a java dev, that could be fine.