PDA

View Full Version : network printer not found (Canon MP 970)

Peter_Huebner
August 16th, 2015, 04:17 PM
I was hoping to hitch a ride with a year-old thread on this forum where somebody could not get their Canon MP970 working.

My problem starts at a much more basic level: the laptop simply can't see the printer. I have started the New Printer process, gone to 'find network printer' and ... nothing.
I assume "Host" in that window stands for either the IP of the router or the IP of the printer on the LAN, but neither IP works when I try it on the cups (what does cups stand for, anyway?) - it simply doesn't register. The printer works fine with 3 windows machines over the same router. There are various options for ipps but I can't make heads or tails out of that lot.

No idea what to do - I'm a complete linux noob. Incidentally I am using Mint, not Ubuntu, but they seem to have the same mechanisms ...

PaulW2U
August 16th, 2015, 04:19 PM
Thread moved to MINT as you're not using an official Ubuntu flavour.

Peter_Huebner
August 16th, 2015, 05:10 PM
Unfortunately shortly after I posted this, Mint crashed alltogether - I tried to open firefox to test an alternative method suggested in a tutorial, by using the browser, but it would not start the browser, crashed to a black screen instead and the USB stick installation of Mint won't boot any more at all.

I tried once more with the live version, but that, also, can't see any network printers.

yancek
August 16th, 2015, 06:38 PM
(what does cups stand for, anyway?)

Common UNIX Printing System

Ask the obvious, is it plugged in and turned on when you make these efforts. If yes, is it connected to one of the other computers? If not, give the link below a read as it has some suggestions that may help.

ajgreeny
August 16th, 2015, 07:59 PM
Have you, or perhaps I should now say, had you, installed a printer driver package of any kind from Canon?