PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] UEFI prevents USB stick from loading (...?)

david421
August 11th, 2015, 05:41 AM
Ladies and gentlemen, I've tried everything. I'm a relative noob with Linux, so please bear with me.

I'm attempting to set up a dual boot with Windows 7 on a relatively new system. Windows loads fine, which confirms that the hardware is in order and assembled correctly. My working hypothesis right now is that my UEFI-based motherboard is causing issues.

System:
Mobo: Gigabyte Z97-HD3 rev2.0 (recently flashed to latest firmware vF8)
CPU: i7-4790k 4.0GHz
RAM: 16GB
Gfx: NVidia GTX 980
SATA0: 500GB ssd (currently unpartitioned / departitioned)
SATA1: 240GB ssd (currently disconnected for troubleshooting purposes)
SATA2: 4TB hdd (currently disconnected for troubleshooting purposes)
SATA3: 4TB hdd (currently disconnected for troubleshooting purposes)
SATA4: {empty / unoccupied}
SATA5: Optical drive

History: (I have no idea what is useful info and what is not, but this is my best attempt to provide synopsis)

First: System self-built with all new components approx. early April 2015. Only recycled component was optical drive and 240GB ssd (SATA1 above). System worked fine with Windows 7 prior to purchase of 500GB ssd (SATA0 above). Main drive was 240GB ssd (SATA1 above) alongside 500gGB hdd (removed) and both 4TB drives (SATA2/3, above) were in use, independently partitioned (E:\ and F:\, respectively) for synching with various cloud storage (Dropbox, OneDrive, and others).

Second: Purchased SATA0 late July 2015, moved SATA1 to current position, removing other hdd not listed above. Left both 4TB drives alone, NTFS clean-formatted x2. Successfully upgraded to Windows 10, experimented for ~2 hours, didn't like it. Formatted and installed Windows 7 instead to occupy entire SATA0. Intention was to install Ubuntu v15.04 Vivid Vervet on entire SATA1 with WUBI installer on USB. (Note -- later steps involve switching to a different USB creator.)