PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] install Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT driver on Ubuntu 14.04 64bit Unity

morbo2
August 4th, 2015, 11:24 PM
a driver is downloaded from Nvidia official website through the recommended driver search on the website.

The file name is called "NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-340.76.run"

Now, I am really new to Linux and I don't have much experience of computer operation system in general. I don't want to screw my Ubuntu 14.04 up by installing the wrong file or by incorrect procedure. I've installed 14.04 more than 3 times this week....

It's showing I'm using the open source driver x.org X server in the "additional driver section" of "software and upgrade section". I haven't install any driver for my video card prior to downloading the 341.76 version of Nvidia driver.

Can someone guide me thruogh the installation process using Synaptic??
Please explain the complete procedure of doing it with easy understanding terms due to my lack of computer related knowledge.
Thank you so much for your patience... :)

Vladlenin5000
August 4th, 2015, 11:39 PM
Do NOT do what you're about to do.
Just select the recommended proprietary driver in in Additional driver, apply, let it download and install automatically for your convenience. Reboot. Done.

oldfred
August 5th, 2015, 05:22 AM
While the 340.xx is the last update for your nVidia card you can use the newest version in the Ubuntu repository.
This screen shot was from my older install with 9600GT.

morbo2
August 5th, 2015, 05:28 AM
There are a few similar drivers in the additional driver section of software and update.

one of them is
Nvidia binary driver - version 331.38 from nvidia-331-updates (Proprietary)
the other one is
Nvidia binary driver - version 331.38 from nvidia-331 (Proprietary, tested)

What are the difference of these two?
it seems like the only difference is the "updates" part
what's the updates mean here?
Should I just go with the one it's being tested?

morbo2
August 5th, 2015, 06:25 AM