PDA

View Full Version : SSD and Swap in my laptop

ckrles
July 4th, 2015, 11:47 AM
Hi, I'm not very knowledgeable about ubuntu. I've been using it for three years or so. I'm intending to buy an SSD (Samsung Evo 850) to upgrade my laptop.
My main concern is with the RAM memory and Swap. My laptop is 32bits and it has 3Gb or Ram, so if I'm not wrong it is useless to upgrade to more RAM since it won't be detected by the system. I just don't know how much my laptop with use swap memory, which is quite relevant since extensive use of it doesn't seem to be very good for SSD's in term of their endurance and durability. Please, correct me if I'm wrong.

The point is that I don't know how often my laptop uses Swap with my current use: specially browsing, vewing pdf's, libreoffice, youtube, rarely watching an mkv video, etc not very ram demanding tasks I think.

I know I can clone my current drive but I'd rather reinstall Xubuntu 14.04 (dual boot with Windows 7).

So, according to my use, what should I do with swap? Should I figure out a way to locate on other drive (I could use the dvd bay to install my hdd and locate swap there if really necessary)? or could I install it on the SSD because my laptop usage will hardly ever need swap, so the ssd won't be "stressed"? How many gb's should I assign to swap?

How could I know how often my laptop needs swap?

My laptop (bought in 2008) specs are:

Toshiba Satellite A300
Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 2.0Ghz
3Gb Ram
250Gb Hdd (I intend to change to a Samsung Evo 850 SSD)

I think it's Sata I (not sure and don't know how to check it), but I guess a SSD would make a great different, wouldn't it?

Thank you very much.

howefield
July 4th, 2015, 02:56 PM
How could I know how often my laptop needs swap?

Running top in a terminal will give you an idea of how much, if any at all swap is being used.

ckrles
July 4th, 2015, 02:59 PM
Running top in a terminal will give you an idea of how much, if any at all swap is being used.