PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help with Ubuntu USB Boot.

Stilian_Zagorov
June 23rd, 2015, 10:39 PM
I am trying to create a bootable usb withPenDriveLinux, but I cant find the iso file. I have never done anything like this before and all tutorials arent simple enough. Can someone send me a link to the easiest to understand and simplest tutorial? Or you could walk me trough here. Thank you in advance.

sudodus
June 23rd, 2015, 10:46 PM
Let us try here!

1. What computer is it? Please specify your computer

- Brand name and model
- CPU
- RAM (size)
- graphics chip/card
- wifi chip/card

and it will be much easier to give relevant advice.

2. What have you got and what do you want?

- Is there Windows in the computer now? Do you want to keep it? In that case which version is it?

Stilian_Zagorov
June 24th, 2015, 08:05 AM
Well,

Acer Aspire One D250
Intel Atom N270 at 1.60GHz
1GB ram card. (Planning to upgrade to 2GB)
Mobile Intel 945 Express Chipset Family
This is what I found in the Device Manager program. I am not sure if it is correct or not.

Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter.

-------------------------------------- (I want Ubuntu 14.--)
I have Windows 7 and the minimum required specs are right on the edge of my specs (It is slow as hell)
I want to only have Ubuntu on my PC and have a copy of Windows XP so I can work on some XP only tasks.
But if dual boot is easier and will not make Ubuntu slower or if it takes a lot of HD space, then I would prefer a dual boot.

What I would like to know
Could I run Tiny7 (minimalised version of Win7) instead of XP?
If so, replace WinXP with Tiny7 in the criteria below.

Is it easier to make a bootable flashdrive with Windows XP on it, or
is it easier to have WinXP and Ubuntu on my PC.
If I have both installed on my PC, will it perform slower.
If I have both installed on my PC, will WinXP take up a lot of space.
--

Thanks alot for the help! :D

Bucky Ball