PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can;t start Ubuntu 14.04 without live USB

t-martin-v
June 21st, 2015, 10:59 AM
I've seen the problem in other topics, but can get it fixed even with following the solutions presented there.

Last year I build a new pc. And used an old ssd on where I installed ubuntu. So far so good. Two weeks ago the ssd crashed beyond repair. And I put in a brand new one TB regular harddisc. I made a new Ubuntu installation with an usb key.

The thing is. It won work. And I can figure out what Iḿ doing wrong.

I won't boot without the live usb. I end up in the shell of the Bios or get an error message.

I tried boot repair. And got this link to use in a forum: http://paste.ubuntu.com/11749803/

Because after I reboot it seems to start up okay. But when i really shut down. And start up half an hour later. The problem magically re-appears.

I'm relatively new to ubuntu. Used it some years as a dual boot on an old laptop. This is the first time I'm using it as a stand alone os.

ajgreeny
June 21st, 2015, 11:49 AM
I wonder if you have fallen foul of the UEFI probem, ie the machine is using UEFI but you installed ubuntu in legacy mode.

However I see you also appear to have used LVM about which I know very little, so can't help with that.

Have a look at UEFI - Ubuntu Documentation (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI) which may help solve some of this, but if that gets you nowhere come back again and someone who is more familiar with Boot-repair and LVM may be able to tell you more.

t-martin-v
June 21st, 2015, 12:43 PM
Thank you very much. Seems like this is what i'm struggling with. I'll read it and try to fix it. Haven't build a desktop myself since 1995. So I have some catching up to do :-)

yancek
June 21st, 2015, 01:54 PM