PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu along other OSs

Lucia_Lisovska
June 20th, 2015, 12:57 PM
Hello. I have Windows Server 2008 and 2012 installed on separate hard drives (500GB each). Then I decided to install Linux alongside Windows to learn it. I installed Ubuntu 15.04 along Windows 2008 (from live CD). Everything was working - I could boot into any 3 OSs. Then I also decided to install PCLinuxOS (from live CD) - along Windows 2012. It installed well and I could still boot into both Windows. But I was unable to boot in Ubuntu anymore - it was trying to find a boot partition but couldn't. What should I do to repair it? Please help anyone who knows Linux very well, as I'm a beginner to it.
Thanks in advance.

Lucia

grahammechanical
June 20th, 2015, 01:19 PM
There are two or three things that you can do.

1) create a boot repair disk.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair

Boot Repair will create a bootinfo summary and store it in Pastebin and give you a URL which you can put in this thread and then we can view the Boot Repair report and give you advice.

Boot Repair will offer a recommended repair which we do not have to accept but unless we accept the recommendations Boot Repair will not actually repair anything. And things will stay as they are.

2) You can give us more information about the hardware. Is Windows Server 2008 on the first hard disk (called sda in Linux)? Is Ubuntu on the same disk? Is PCLinux on the same disk? What boot system does the motherboard have? BIOS? or UEFI?

The usual recommendation from boot repair is to re-install the Grub boot loader into the MBR of all hard disks. We can change that. But if Grub is installed into the MBR of the disk with Windows Server 2012 on then it will overwrite the Windows boot loader and you may not want that to happen.