PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] LAMP distro for Operating System Idiots like me

madman3
June 19th, 2015, 08:13 AM
Preamble
I'm a web developer who is also an OSI (see title) and unfortunately have to develop and test on a Windows machine.
Up until now I have been using WAMP and XAMPP as my localhost server which has been kind of adequate.
Unfortunately these solutions are somewhat outdated and fast becoming irrelevant.
One of the biggest issues is that they use the GD image handler library which is no longer supported on more and more production servers.
But getting the alternative ImageMagick installed on the above mentioned is all but impossible especially for people like myself.
So I decided to build a LAMP server on a VirtualBox just to see if the latest Ubuntu is any easier than the last Linux install I attempted.
(RedHat 1.something many many years ago - Win95 was still "the OS to use")
Here I have to say that I found the base installation of the various Ubuntu installs available a surprisingly pleasant experience.
But then the troubles started - especially when you realize that in my world Vim is a kitchen scouring product and Vi is the short name for aunt Violet and sudo became So Do in my head and I could not get anything working in the terminal until I figured it out.
I need to be able to see my local HTTP server using the Windows file explorer and the ability to FTP into it using FileZilla and EditPlus from the Windows host.
The first 15 or so VM's were all broken by me and my keyboard.
The next bunch I tried various 3rd party solutions (which all need a collage degree to get working) and the last 2 were "more or less" successful using Samba and the default FTP server and a lot of YouTube.
Except that if you create a folder using PHP, not even PHP can get into it at all, Filezilla can do nothing with it and neither can Windows Explorer or EditPlus.