PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] getting my backup script to run at shutdown

bobbicat
May 30th, 2015, 01:18 PM
At this time I am running Kubuntu 15.04 on a desktop PC, UEFI/GPT amd64. I've been managing tolerably well, for quite a number of years, without Mac or Msoft.

I use rdiff-backup to backup my /home folder to another marked /storage
I have a script which I place in /etc/cron.hourly which gives hourly incremental backups
This is working well

I also place a copy of the script in /etc/init.d with links to it labelled K10 in /etc/rc0.d and /etc/rc6.d
These used to give me an additional backup at shutdown and reboot.
This part no longer works.

I am not a coder or programmer but have been using Kubuntu exclusively for quite a few years, so I am no absolute beginner. I suspect my problem is a result of the change to systemd. Believing this I have searched the web and tried out various approaches with no success. I have tried to create various versions of a .service file, placing it in /etc/systemd/system with no result. I have navigated to systemsettings/startupandShutdown/Autostart where I added my script, unfortunately also without result.

It is beginning to look like shutdown doesn't like my script, though it does work producing hourly backups as I mentioned above. It also used to work to make a backup at shutdown.

Will hourly backups have to be all I can have for now, or is there an answer to my dilemma?
Or is this something that should be reported as a Bug?
I am a bit out of my depth here and unsure what direction to take.

ian-weisser
May 31st, 2015, 04:11 AM
Upstart in 15.04 no longer handles system boot/shutdown.
You can change the init from systemd back to Upstart.
Or you can create a replacement systemd .service file that runs during /usr/lib/systemd/user/shutdown.target

Personally, I think the long-term answer is the latter - to tackle the learning curve and get your new systemd .service working.