PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] iso's preprocessing and isohybrids

bobbicat
May 22nd, 2015, 06:24 AM
I reported a bug for Gparted-live. Their iso file is isohybrid but only works for BIOS, it will not work for UEFI when a copy is made to a thumb drive. Apparently they do not know how to create a fully functioning isohybrid. I seem to have been seconded to find an answer.
I am not a programmer, coder or geek, but have been a user of a Kubuntu for many years. Is it possible to explain to me in layman's terms how to create an iso and then convert it into an isohybrid which will boot from a usb pen drive in both BIOS and UEFI modes?
Gparted-live also complains of a recursive partition in the thumb drive version. It only appears to be the isohybrid part that is malfunctioning. I think the two problems are, the installation begins at sector0 and no proper funtioning of UEFI is enabled. I'm guessing that the parameters to create an isohybrid need to be set correctly.
I ask here because I use a Ubuntu based system, Gparted-live is Debian based and so is Ubuntu, but most of all, because Ubuntu can create a properly formed isohybrid in their distributions, so it must be possible.
The actual file I am working with is an AMD64 iso, on an UEFI based machine.
I have Googled and read a bit about iso's and preprocessing to create an isohybrid but I am in no way knowledgeable about any of this.
Is it possible to point me in the right direction?

sudodus
May 22nd, 2015, 07:13 AM
I'll try to help you, but I am not sure that I understand your problem.

There is a program called isohybrid, that you can run yourself. Use it to modify an iso file, that works when burned to a CD or DVD, but not when cloned to a USB drive. After the modification, the iso file can be cloned to a USB boot drive. I have used isohybrid many times.

But isohybrid has nothing to do with UEFI. You need other methods to make an iso file boot in UEFI mode.