PDA

View Full Version : Openbox installation and setup on ubuntu 15.04

trezo
May 22nd, 2015, 12:45 AM
Please i need step by step guidelines on how to setup openbox on ubuntu 15.04.I have seen trying since two days ago without any success.I could actually install it with apt-get but setting up menu(debian)has been hell.I'm new to linux please help.This is my first distro.

vasa1
May 22nd, 2015, 01:53 AM
If you're new to Linux and this is your first distro, I'd suggest there's no need to install Openbox. Just use the default system.

I've been using Openbox myself for a couple of years and tried the debian menu for a while but I found it was too complicated for me. So now all I use is rc.xml and menu.xml.

In any case, you need to describe your exact problem in more detail.

oldos2er
May 22nd, 2015, 02:02 AM
Moved to Desktop Environments.

trezo
May 22nd, 2015, 02:56 AM
If you're new to Linux and this is your first distro, I'd suggest there's no need to install Openbox. Just use the default system.

I've been using Openbox myself for a couple of years and tried the debian menu for a while but I found it was too complicated for me. So now all I use is rc.xml and menu.xml.

In any case, you need to describe your exact problem in more detail.

http://www.maketecheasier.com/configure-andcustomize-openbox/

I was following the set up procedures from the above link.I successfully installed openbox with "sudo apt-get install openbox obconf ". Then when i tried to run the second line in the below code, it tells me no such file or directory.
sudo apt-get install menu
cp /var/lib/openbox/debian-menu.xml ~/.config/openbox/debian-menu.xml
cp /etc/xdg/openbox/menu.xml ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml
cp /etc/xdg/openbox/rc.xml ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml
openbox --reconfigure

I thought i couldn't do without debian menu,if i could then, how can i setup rc.xml and menu.xml? I wanted the openbox because i hear it is fast.This ubuntu 15.04 seems to be slow.Is Lubuntu faster?

v3.xx