PDA

View Full Version : Why don't we make a FPS game with a single player campaign?

Stefan_Vukanovic
May 3rd, 2015, 10:29 AM
How hard can it be to make a open-source single player game with a good and long campaign? I'm a C/C++ programmer myself and my brother is good at gimping textures. We could use one of the existing game engines, like IoQuake3 (It is old, but I don't think we need fancy graphics), free and open-source tools like Blender 3D and Gimp, Code::Blocks for projects, etc.
It would probably take several months, or even years, but it would be a first such game ever made. Also, it would be fun (at least to me :)).

TheFadedBrit
May 3rd, 2015, 01:45 PM
I'm up for it if you need a story writer or voice actor (too a certain extent for acting)

Stefan_Vukanovic
May 3rd, 2015, 01:54 PM

TheFadedBrit
May 3rd, 2015, 04:59 PM
Glad to be of service

Stefan_Vukanovic
May 4th, 2015, 11:24 AM
I should make an IRC channel about this. Also, can I add u to skype contacts?

user1397
May 5th, 2015, 03:46 AM
I could've sworn there already was an open-source FPS game? Maybe I'm going mad? I can't remember the name...

Stefan_Vukanovic
May 5th, 2015, 06:45 PM
I could've sworn there already was an open-source FPS game? Maybe I'm going mad? I can't remember the name...

There are already several Open-Source games that work under linux, like Nexuiz, OpenArena, Red Eclipse... But none of them has a singleplayer campagin :)

mastablasta
May 6th, 2015, 07:46 AM
Yes what the hell happened to SP mode in FPS?!?! they are so hard to find even proprietary ones. while opensource they only make multiplayer ones. and these rarely have bots. World of padman had SP planned but then it was scrapped.

user1397
May 6th, 2015, 09:54 PM
There are already several Open-Source games that work under linux, like Nexuiz, OpenArena, Red Eclipse... But none of them has a singleplayer campagin :)