PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Ubuntu installs, but refuses to shot in boot manager

simon97
April 30th, 2015, 09:57 PM
Hey there,

I've been using Ubuntu for a while, but took a pause to go back to Windows completely, as I'm a Windows software developer.
I recently decided to use a dual-boot solution for video rendering and graphics design, as I'm not willing to pay several hundred Euros for software that essentially does the same as the equally good open source software.

Anyways, today I tried installing Ubuntu Studio alongside Windows, and the installation completed without errors.
All the partitions and files are present, however the OS does not show up in the boot manager, nor does it boot up.

I installed the OS via a USB stick, as I've done plenty times before.

I'm completely stumped. I installed twice, and completely deleted the partitions created after the first install.

Here are some screenshots of the partitions and files:

I'm using a 2008 Dell Studio 1737, Pentium Duo T4500 w/ 4GiB DDR2 RAM.
Installed version of Ubuntu: Ubuntu Studio 15.04 x64

Any help with this would be much appreciated.

oldfred
April 30th, 2015, 10:59 PM
Did you install grub to MBR, not a partition?

Windows does not see Linux partitions so screenshots from Windows do not show Linux.

Post the link to the Create BootInfo summary report. Is part of Boot-Repair:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Info

simon97
April 30th, 2015, 11:12 PM
I selected the "Install Ubuntu Alongside Windows 8" option

oldfred
April 30th, 2015, 11:38 PM
Did you leave Windows fast startup on? That is always on hibernation and must be off.

Fast Startup off
http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/6320-fast-startup-turn-off-windows-8-a.html

Post link to Summary report.

simon97
April 30th, 2015, 11:44 PM
My laptop doesn't have UEFI, so it doesn't support that feature in the first place. It's still got a good old BIOS.

oldfred
April 30th, 2015, 11:46 PM