PDA

View Full Version : "Failed to start /etc/rc.local Compatibility"

Mark_Racicot
April 29th, 2015, 12:04 AM
Host system:
Intel i5/3.4MHz, 32GB RAM, Win7 (x64) Ultimate -- running VMWare Player

Created new VM for Ubuntu 15.04, allocated a 30GB drive space for it. Installed. During first post-install boot, I see:

[FAILED] Failed to start /etc/rc.local Compatibility.

I'm new to Linux generally and Ubuntu specifically... When I 'ls' the etc directory, rc.local shows up as a green filename, and I've not a single clue what that color code means. I can see that it is owned by root, so it's something the system created during install. The error message is also the only error message I see when I start this VM.

On this same host, I have an Ubuntu 14.04LTS installation (x64), and the only error message I see in that boot is that the VMWare Tools aren't running or starting. I can live without that for now, but it is different that the previous version of Ubuntu I had installed (version unknown), in which the VMWare tools ran correctly and there were no errors/fails during boot.

In neither case does this error/fail message appear to have any bearing on the operation of the system, but I don't like 'fail' messages during boot.

Any ideas?

Mark

ian-weisser
April 29th, 2015, 02:22 PM
The green color means that it's an executable file.
If you open the file in any text editor (or view it using the 'cat /etc/rc.local' command), you can see that the file does nothing special or important (well, mine doesn't)...unless you edit the file to do something. That's why the file failing to be read has no effect - the file does nothing anyway.

Why the file is there in the first place:
In most Linux systems, the very first process (PID #1) is called 'init'. It's the Master Control. Init starts and stops programs and supervises services and does lots of other things. Almost everything else on the system is a child or grandchild of init.