PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Java crashes in 14.10

stepheny
April 23rd, 2015, 03:18 PM
I have been using Ubuntu since 2006 (8.04) and have never had so many serious problems as I am experiencing with 14.10. I am spending days trying to get applications and programs that worked seamlessly in 14.04 to work in 14.10 and I am seriously thinking of deleting the partition and re-installing 14.04. Or maybe it is time to change distros.

The latest problem to show up is a Java runtime problem. I use the Arduino IDE and if I try and save a sketch the IDE crashes with the following messages. I have tried different JRE's such as oracle-java7, oracle-java8 and icedtea but it always crashes and doesn't save the sketch.

~$ arduino
Picked up JAVA_TOOL_OPTIONS: -javaagent:/usr/share/java/jayatanaag.jar
#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
# SIGSEGV (0xb) at pc=0x00007f26f320a70c, pid=6714, tid=139804138272512
#
# JRE version: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (8.0_45-b14) (build 1.8.0_45-b14)
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (25.45-b02 mixed mode linux-amd64 compressed oops)
# Problematic frame:
# C [libawt_xawt.so+0x4470c] handle_response+0xac
#
# Failed to write core dump. Core dumps have been disabled. To enable core dumping, try "ulimit -c unlimited" before starting Java again
#
# An error report file with more information is saved as:
# /tmp/hs_err_pid6714.log
#
# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:
# http://bugreport.java.com/bugreport/crash.jsp
#
/usr/bin/arduino: Zeile 36: 6714 Abgebrochen (Speicherabzug geschrieben) java -Dswing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKL ookAndFeel processing.app.Base "$@"

Does anyone know what is wrong?

sgian
April 25th, 2015, 04:39 PM
Have you tried purging Oracle Java and then installing openJDK? I know sometimes Oracle Java works better for some applications, but perhaps this application might work better with openJDK?