PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 14.10-AMD64 - intel chipset - gtx750

michael280
April 19th, 2015, 12:35 AM
Hi guys/girls

Im new to the linux world and i must admit the change from windows has not been easy. I have a few questions as im clearly
making a lot of mistakes and im getting tired. So im gone to explain what happening and what i have done and hope i can get
this working.

*please note english is not my first language so sorry for any mistakes*

So i have recently built a new PC

motherboard - Asus H97M-E
ram - 8gb hyperX @ 1600
gfx card - Asus GTX 750 OC 2gb

I just moved so didnt have any of my old computer stuff so ended up installing the "ubuntu-14.10-desktop-i386"
from my android using drive droid. it installed fine but was at a small resolution.

after running "sudo apt-get update" i restarted and i was still as a small resolution that i cant change in settings.

so i went looking for my graphics card drivers and this is where my issues started. i used the software center and installed
the latest nvidia drivers rebooted and got a black screen that proceeded to an error. I wish i could say what the error was
but it was only there for a few seconds before it rebooted. After some time in google i found a forum that confused me even more
saying i needed to add a ppa that ubuntu terminal didnt recodnise then apt-get update and install nvidia 334 all under sudo.

so i tried this and i got no luck at this point i noticed i was running the 32bit version of ubuntu.

im now downloading the "ubuntu-14.10-desktop-amd64" but im worried about the name AMD im running intel and downloading on my
connection is taking some time (over 4 hours and im 60% into a 1.1gb download)

so to try and save time i have come to this forum.

2 questions

will "ubuntu-14.10-desktop-amd64" run with my chipset ?

and

what would be the fast and easy way to get my gtx up and going ?

links to step by step would be very helpfull as i said im new to the linux world.

thanks for any help