PDA

View Full Version : I cannot execute my update manager

angelina.llonguera
April 18th, 2015, 01:59 AM
Hello,

I have been experiencing this problem for the last two or three days and I would be indeed VERY grateful for some help, as I am new to Ubuntu, am 61 and definitely not gifted for technology > :...whenever I try to open my update manager to see if there is anything to download, I get this message>

S'ha produït un error irresoluble mentre s'inicialitzava la informació de paquets.

Informeu d'aquest error de l'update-manager i incloeu el missatge següent:

'E:Encountered a section with no Package: header, E:Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/security.ubuntu.com_ubuntu_dists_precise-security_main_i18n_Translation-ca, E:No s'han pogut analitzar o obrir les llistes de paquets o el fitxer d'estat.'

Which, translated from Catalan it reads>

An irresolvable mistake has occurred as the update manager was initializing
Inform update manager about this problem and include the following message...*then it comes a passage in English, and at the end there is one last sentence in Catalan which says THe package lists and the state file has not been able to be analysed...

I tried to use the mouse right button to see if some sort of menu appeared that gave me some options, as I did not know how to @inform the update manager@... but, no, the update manager would simply start and I would keep getting this same message. In fact a stip sign has also appeared on the top bar of my desk...

I have found somewhere that the 12.04 version of Ubuntu I am using is no longer supported, and there I discovered that if I clicked Alt and F2 and type update/manager I go there, but even doing so I always get the same message, so I cannot upgrade any files, and also cannot access a newer version of Ubuntu...I am at a loss on what to do.

Can you help me , please ?? THANKS so much. My email is [snipped]

Kind regards,

Angelina

ian-weisser
April 18th, 2015, 02:48 AM