PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to recover lost data of Win 7 data lost during ubuntu 14.04 LST install on HP 430

Mohit_Jiindal
April 16th, 2015, 12:09 PM
Hello Friends/Experts

I am new to ubuntu and as well to this forum. I have yesterday only installed ubuntu 14.04 LST on my HP 430 Notebook/Laptop with the 'replace' option selected. Like I said earlier, I am all new to this world of linux, ubuntu and this is the reason I had no clue that selecting this option would erase all the data on my D:\ drive partition of around 250 Gb alongside that of C:\. I have installed this ubuntu 14.04 LST twice within a span of 1 hour once with no wifi option selected and second time with wi-fi option selected hoping that it would enable and get my wi-fi connection working on my laptop but it disappointed me totally. I have posted a thread related to this in the networking forum.

In view of aforesaid, I did now like to recover all my D:\drive partition data as the same was of utmost importance to me. I don't mind loosing on video files but really need the rest of the stuff. It would be very kind of you , if you could please help me reover my lost data. For the sake of information I did also like to state there I haven't done much changes to my system after the installation of ubuntu - I only browsed the web using a wired eternet connection and also tried to upgrade the OS through Software Centre and also by making use of these two commands :

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

I shall be very thankful for the kind favor.

P.S: Staff members may please move this tread to appropriate place if required.

Mark Phelps
April 16th, 2015, 01:44 PM
In my experience, Windows filesystem utilities have been best at recovering data from former Windows partitions; Linux filesystem utilities have been best at recovering data from former Linux partitions. Your best bet at recovering data in a useful form from the Windows filesystem is to do as indicated below ...