PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unable to install Ubuntu 14.04.2 on system with Gigabyte Z97x motherboard

jd.russell2006
April 15th, 2015, 11:31 PM
Hi all, I am new to the forums and was wondering if anyone could help me. I have used linux Ubuntu before several years ago I believe version 12. something. So I am somewhat familiar with linux basics and installation, however I can not seem to get to the installer for the latest version of ubuntu. I'd really like to install a linux distro on my computer for cross platform software and game development (I'm currently working with an indie game studios kickstarter group). As mentioned I have some but very limited knowledge when it comes to linux distros and I am only really familiar with ubuntu (although this time I did try installing linux mint as well - that also fails).

The problem is that when I try to boot into the installer it either hangs on a black screen (in UEFI mode) or goes to a blank (sometimes a few lines of text) grey screen in the legacy mode. The installer I am using is a 30 gigabyte flash drive formatted and created with the universal usb installer program (excessive but I don't have anything else not in use atm). I have followed the basic instructions I found from the ubuntu wiki (i think) about installing on a UEFI machine - i.e. I have disabled fast boot and secure boot. This still resulted in the same blank screen behavior.

I am attempting to do this install alongside a Windows 8.1 partition (like I said before interested in cross platform development) that I would like to keep. I just recently built my first desktop (in a while) and some of the rough system specs are as follows:

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97x gaming 3 motherboard.
Processor: Intel i5-4690k
GPU: Geforce 750ti Windforce Black Edition (also from Gigabyte)
Memory: G-Skill 8 GB

The motherboard came with the DualBios UEFI setup. The bios version was F3 I upgraded to F5 (the latest).