PDA

View Full Version : Xorg and VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

stepan3
April 14th, 2015, 09:06 AM
Hello. I need your help!

I have thin client WYSE x90 with VIA Chrome9 HC IGP graphic card. I want try to start ubuntu live USB. But i have problems with x manager. It seems it did not recognize my video system.
When it starts i se label "Ubuntu" and progress bar. Then i see a lot of gray stripes and screen starts slowly became black. Could you help me? I am very new in Linux.

Million thanks in advance.

tgalati4
April 14th, 2015, 02:48 PM
VIA chipsets can be problematic. What graphics driver are you trying to run?

Try to boot into compatibility mode and see if the VIA openchrome driver is loaded:

tgalati4@Mint17 ~ $ apt-cache search openchrome
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome - X.Org X server -- VIA display driver
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-dbg - X.Org X server -- VIA display driver -- debugging symbols
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-quantal - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-quantal-dbg - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-dbg
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-raring - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-raring-dbg - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-dbg
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-saucy - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-saucy-dbg - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-dbg
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-trusty - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-trusty-dbg - Transitional package for xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-dbg
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-utopic - X.Org X server -- VIA display driver
xserver-xorg-video-openchrome-lts-utopic-dbg - X.Org X server -- VIA display driver -- debugging symbols

No switches to modify with the standard via driver.