PDA

View Full Version : smokeping from scratch on ubuntu

brendon5
April 5th, 2015, 02:39 PM
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to ubuntu and I have tried following several guides exactly and none of them provide all of the instructions necessary to get smokeping working. I have written these instructions after following several guides. I'm trying to browse to my local ip http://192.x.x.x/cgi-bin/smokeping.cgi which I have configured in general and I just get that the page can't be displayed. I've restarted all the services several times and I get no errors. If there's a step by step guide that actually includes all the steps necessary, I'd appreciate that, but so far they just assume you know half the stuff already. Also I tried chmod 755 to allow write access to files and it didn't work, so I had to do 777 which I'm told is not the best, but it seems to work ok for now. I really don't know much about ubuntu or apache or smokeping, but I'd really like to get smokeping going rather than spending $200 on pingplotter (pingplotter.com)

I have Ubuntu 14.04lts
Instructions I followed are below:

sudo apt-get install aptitude
aptitude install smokeping curl libauthen-radius-perl libnet-ldap-perl libnet-dns-perl libio-socket-ssl-perl libnet-telnet-perl libsocket6-perl libio-socket-inet6-perl apache2 sendmail
let it run
sudo apt-get install vim
sudo chmod 777 /etc/smokeping/config.d/General
vim /etc/smokeping/config.d/General
(Make sure that mailhost contains the primary MX for your email domain)
=== General ===
owner = some guy
contact = someguy@gmail.com
mailhost = ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM
# NOTE: do not put the Image Cache below cgi-bin
# since all files under cgi-bin will be executed ... this is not
# good for images.
cgiurl = http://<youriphere>/cgi-bin/smokeping.cgi
# specify this to get syslog logging
syslogfacility = local0
# each probe is now run in its own process
# disable this to revert to the old behaviour
# concurrentprobes = no