PDA

View Full Version : Installation of Ubuntu 14.10 on USB Drive

tpelle2
March 11th, 2015, 01:05 AM
Newbie here, getting cold feet in the middle of an Ubuntu installation to a USB drive.

I am installing a "boot from USB" installation of Ubuntu on a blank 64gb USB drive. At one point I get to a question where it asks "Install Alongside Windows Boot Manager" or "Erase Disk and Install Ubuntu". I don't know which way to answer.

Obviously I don't want to blow away Windows 8.1 (yet), as I just want to give Ubuntu a try for a while.

What do I do here?

The computer is a Toshiba Satellite C55 with Windows 8.1.

yancek
March 11th, 2015, 01:15 AM
If you just want to try it you could just test it using the usb.
You would have more control using the "Something Else" option rather than the Install Alongside. That way you will see the different drives/partitions and can select where to install.
The link below has a pretty detailed tutorial on installing Ubuntu in dual-boot.

http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/ubuntu-14-04-install-guide.html

grahammechanical
March 11th, 2015, 01:26 AM
Do not click Install Ubuntu. Only click Try Ubuntu. Then you will not have this problem until you are ready to actually install. Many have decided to "blow away Windows," as you put it, only to want it back later on. Too late then. As you have Windows 8, you should read this before installing alongside Windows.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI

Regards.

tpelle2
March 11th, 2015, 04:18 AM
Thanks for the replies, but can we keep it a little more simple? What my goal here is to get an installation of Ubuntu that boots from USB, so that, if I want to run Ubuntu I simply insert the USB drive, reboot, and the computer simply boots up in Linux. To revert to Windows I would simply shut down, remove the USB drive, and start back up. I thought that this was what the whole "USB bootable" thing was about!