PDA

View Full Version : Snow loads on Roofs | Any Structural Engineers?

vtpoet2
March 3rd, 2015, 02:39 PM
So, I'm a builder by trade and got into a friendly discussion. Boston has gotten several feet of snow and some roofs have collapsed. I have an in-law who got unreasonably panicky about the amount of snow on his roof. Contractors down there are charging upwards of thousands of dollars to rake roofs (though not all). He doesn't/didn't have the money or couldn't find a cheaper one. So, one panicky morning he climbed onto the roof and cleared one side. The other half is a two story fall and he is mildly scared of heights.

That got me thinking. Would it have been better to leave the snow on both sides, structurally? Does having all that weight on one side introduce more troubling structural stresses? To be honest, this may be theoretical. I've never seen his roof and it may have a ridge beam. But let's say it doesn't. It's probably rafters. But what if it were a truss system? I can see it both ways, but I'd be interested to hear a structural engineer's opinion. :popcorn:

tgalati4
March 3rd, 2015, 04:25 PM
If you know the pitch of the roof, you can calculate the side load by using some trigonometry. Most of the load will be vertically down if the roof has a steep pitch, so the side loads will be smaller. A few links show that most 20 lb/square foot roofs can handle about 4 feet of dry snow. So if your in-law has 3 feet of dry snow on the roof, and there is another storm coming, I would consider clearing the entire roof. If you have 1 foot of wet snow, then that could be 20 lbs/square foot and require clearing.

Take some snow off of the roof and weigh it. Make it a kid's science project and let them decide what to do.

The asymmetric loading would more critical for dynamic loading--during an earthquake, for instance. So as long as you don't have any earthquakes, you should be OK.

http://www.nationsroof.com/SnowLoads_2006.pdf