PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu 14.04 back to 12.04

acefromspace
March 1st, 2015, 04:13 AM
I helped a friend (total beginner) with her laptop. Installed ubuntu 12.04 and everything worked great. She upgraded to 14.04 (thought she was just doing update) and now there are system problems. Myself, I am old school and always do fresh install... no upgrades, ect. For now, I would really like to get her back to 12.04 until I'm ready to do fresh install of 14.04. Is this simple or do I have to start all over?

Bucky Ball
March 1st, 2015, 04:59 AM
You have to start over with a clean install of 12.04 LTS. You could do a clean install of 14.04 LTS and see if that fixes the issue (something may have gone wrong with the in-box upgrade). 14.04 LTS is supported until 2019, 12.04 til 2017. Good luck.

acefromspace
March 1st, 2015, 06:45 AM
OK, disregard this thread... looked around and she really messed things up! Got into file system. I have learned a lession from this. The first thing you teach a beginner is what NOT to do. I like helping people and getting them to try lynux, but I need to write some basic guidelines (in layman terms) to explain a few things. For now, I'm going to tell her that after she logs on, she should not need to use her password again... that means you are messing with something you don't need to be doing. I need suggestions for beginners... what not to do. Would it be easier to setup so she doesn't need password to login, but don't tell her the password so she can't do much damage?

Bucky Ball
March 1st, 2015, 06:50 AM
You could make yourself the owner when you reinstall, tweak the machine to how she wants it, then create a guest account for her and set permissions so she is not in the admin group. If the machine needs updating or any major changes need to be done, YOU are going to have to do them by logging in under your account is the only draw back.