PDA

View Full Version : Shell script timestamp variable

fr33z0n3r
February 28th, 2015, 04:41 PM
I'm no linux expert so I was hoping someone could help me on this shell script issue with a timestamp variable.

This is the line I have in use. It is a line to insert into my logfile for the shell script. I am noticing that the date does not update when I reuse the variable LOGENTRY. How can I get this variable to update the timestamp?

LOGENTRY="`date '+%b %d %k:%M:%S'` `hostname -s` `basename $0`:"
echo $LOGENTRY something to log

Thanks in advance!

Gustaf_Alhll
February 28th, 2015, 05:04 PM
Make a loop and delay by using "sleep 1".
Ex.

while true; do
LOGENTRY="`date '+%b %d %k:%M:%S'` `hostname -s` `basename $0`:"
echo $LOGENTRY something to log
sleep 1
done
There are better ways to do it, but this is one way to.
Hope this helps!

Lars Noodén
February 28th, 2015, 05:08 PM
I'm pretty sure that there is not a way to use a regular environment variable in that way. I think you'd have to put it on a single line:

echo "$(/bin/date +'%b %d %k:%M:%S') $(/bin/hostname -s) $(/usr/bin/basename -- "$0"):" "something to log"

fr33z0n3r
February 28th, 2015, 05:21 PM
Rats! I have been playing with it since posting and discovered that by eliminating the VERY helpful variable, it was able to update.

I just figured linux is so powerful, why can't a variable actively evaluate again and again by default?

Is there some way to force evaluation? I've seen eval?

ian-weisser
February 28th, 2015, 07:56 PM
It's just a variable - an inert set of data bytes. It's not a class or a function or a method or anything active.

You can write a function to update the variable if you really want to.

Or you can write a function to create an updated timestamp string each time you need to log something.

ofnuts
February 28th, 2015, 11:32 PM