PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB Boot Error - Dual boot install WinXP and Lubuntu 14.01

Jwilso
February 20th, 2015, 09:58 PM
Like Shane36 I am new to Ubuntu and am trying to install but keep getting a boot error.

System is Dell Pentium 4 1.7GHz with 1 Gig RAM and two IDE drives - HD0 with 40 GB and HD1 with 80GB and WinXP installed and working. I want ubuntu only on the 40GB HDD. Have tried preformatting dev0 from XP for root, swap and home partitions and always got hung up before install finished. Then I thought my system was too old for the version (11) I was installing...I know not supported now...so I went back to Lubunu 14.01 and did the install that does all the partitioning and formatting for you. All seemed to work well until I rebooted and selected Ubuntu from the dual boot screen. This is what I get (same error I had trying to install Ubuntu 11 previously):

Try (hd0,0) :NTFS5: error: "prefix" is not set.
error: no such device: /ubuntu/disks/root.disk
error: no such device: /ubuntu/install/boot/grub/grub.cfg

Then some other info that scrolls by too fast to pause on

Then it starts GNU GRUB and I get
GRUB>

Is this happening because the HD0 has no label: i.e. in WinXP it does not show up because it has no device name like D: or E:

Did I miss something...I thought the Lubuntu installer would take care of this. And I don't know where the NTFS5 thing comes from because I formatted the HD0 drive as FAT32 and ran chkdsk to confirm it is OK because I know of issues with ubuntu and NTFS.

Like Shane my head is swimming with the stuff I've read trying to solve this myself after 3 days!
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Jeff

oldfred
February 20th, 2015, 11:23 PM
Boot live Installer CD or flash drive and install Boot-Repair.

Post the link to the Create BootInfo summary report. Is part of Boot-Repair:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Info

grahammechanical
February 21st, 2015, 12:53 AM