PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Install of 14.04 hanging

jamescc1968
February 12th, 2015, 04:11 AM
I am fairly new to Ubuntu. I have had 13.01 on this computer for about 6 months with no problems. I love it. It was put on by a friend who did a complete wipe of windows per my request. (it was running very slowly and he said files were corrupt. (I assume he was talking about the files, not microsoft.) ;) Anyway, I was updating/ upgrading files and I could have rebooted or something while this was going on and it would not reboot. It went into a screen to follow certain things...I did all of those to no avail.I had all of my files backed up so I decided to do a complete install of 14.01. I followed the directions ...made a live boot disk and a live USB. Both of them will run ok but when I try to just install It hangs or I get the installation crashed. it is as follows:
Error copying files
[Errno30] read-only file system : '/target / mnt'

when I did a check disk from the Ubuntu software it said "2 files bad" may be a bad disk...needs to be in a cooler area....
and when it trys to report it says "problem cannot be reported"

When I first had the problem I took it to a computer repair place and they checked the HD and they said it checked out to be fine.
I did a check disk to find it was ok too.

The computer is a Toshiba satellite L655 I am running Ubuntu 14.04 from the Live USB right now
memory 3.7 GiB
intel pentium(R) CPU P6100 @2.0 GHz x 2
Graphics card intel Ironlake Mobile
OS 64bit
Disk 2.0 GB
I think the hard drive is 300GB

Please help.

James

*******It does not actually say hard drive error....I tried to edit the title...it wont let me. It says the install has crashed and then what is typed above.

efflandt
February 12th, 2015, 08:08 AM
Sounds like the drive may be failing. How did you test it? A partition automatically being remounted read-only is a sign of drive issues. Linux does that to try to protect remaining data.